ARC REVIEW: When a Marquis Chooses a Bride by Ella Quinn

Friday, September 16, 2016
Thanks to their large extended family and unconventional courtship, the Worthingtons have seen their share of scandal and excitement. But nothing has prepared them for this...The Dowager Lady Worthington isn’t quite sure what to make of country-girl Dorothea Stern. As the granddaughter of the Duke of Bristol, Dotty is schooled in the ways and means of the nobility. But her sharp wit and outspoken nature has everyone in a tizzy. Especially their cousin, Dominic, the Marquis of Merton.

Prematurely stuffy, Dom was raised by his cheerless uncle to be wary of a host of things, including innovation, waltzing, and most perilous of all: true love. Still, there’s something about Dotty, beyond her beauty, that Dom cannot resist. But the odds are against him if he intends to win her as his bride. Will he choose loyalty to his family—or risk everything for the one woman he believes is his perfect match…
“A classic Regency romp! Perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes.”--Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

It's been awhile since I've read a book where the heroine is so blatantly fragile and feminine in a book. Don't get me wrong Dotty is definitely on my list of strong heroines but unlike the others I've read, Dotty had a certain fragility or rather while she was a strong character she still had that air of innocence that is so common in historical romance heroines and I pretty much loved her for it.

After almost missing the season, which also happens to be her coming out, Dotty is finally able to go to London and have at it. And although her parents aren't with her she has Grace and Matt and their brood (from the previous book) who are a great substitute family. Dotty's character was like a worldly Disney princess with a feministic streak. And while she doesn't speak to animals she does save a few, actually anything or anyone who is in need will never go without if Dotty is around. And so this is how she makes her first grand entrance into Merton's life.

Merton is all about duty, station and the peerage. Until Dotty and a bag of kittens enters his life. Dotty sees the real Merton, the Merton not even Merton is aware of and her goal becomes showing him that being his true self isn't failing or wrong. This book was incredibly sweet, so sweet that at one point I feared I'd picked up a clean romance. Which thankfully, was not the case, because it left me hot and bothered quite a few times. Pair that with some sleuthing, plots to tear apart our to love birds, kittens that need saving and a bunch of noisy children and you have yourself an entertaing regency romp!

On a sidenote: I keep starting these historical romances mid-series but this book could easily be read as a stand alone but for my own piece of mind I will be reading the first book at some point.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2014 Read More Sleep Less Blog
Template by These Paper Hearts