Review and Interview A thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Tuesday, November 10, 2020



Paperback : 304 pages
ISBN-10 : 1250219426
ISBN-13 : 978-1250219428
Publisher : Tor Teen (October 27, 2020)
Language: : English

Praise for A THOUSAND FIRES

"A Thousand Fires pulls you in close and shows you the essence of what it means to keep fighting. Shannon Price is one to watch." ―Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

"Brutal and beautiful, A THOUSAND FIRES broke my heart. A fast-paced tragedy of love, betrayal, and vengeance." ―Heidi Heilig, author of FOR A MUSE OF FIRE

"Modern, unflinching and filled with haunting, lingering imagery, A Thousand Fires gives the story of the Iliad the bare-knuckled update it deserves." ―Colleen Oakes, author of The Black Coats

"Fast-paced... Vivid descriptions and intricate details bring San Francisco to life ... A promising debut." ―Kirkus

"A heart-wrenching tale... action-packed and intense... A fantastic read." ―School Library Journal


Shannon Price's A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that's perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

Valerie Simons knows the city's gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway her from joining the elite and beautiful Herons to avenge his death—a death she feels responsible for.

But when Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags, their charismatic and volatile leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie fights to stay alive as she races across the streets of San Francisco to finish the mission that got her into the gangs.

You can purchase A Thousand Fires at the following Retailers:
        

REVIEW 4 stars 

"My thoughts bleed with the reminder that I'm dancing with demons, flirting with the monsters." 

This was a unique story, it was refreshing and fast paced. It has such a great storyline and I find it promising. I haven’t read anything like this.

The story is about three gangs who fighting against each other. These gangs recruit people on their eighteenth birthday and they only have to stay in for one year. 

Valerie our heroine lost her brother by a member of the Boar gang.She and Matthew were friends and then they have a relationship .Matthew was picked by the Herons and Valerie by the Stags.The Stags decide to team up with the Boars to take out the Herons.  They agree that the Herons need to be stopped. 

Overall, it was original and so refreshing , it was emotional at some parts too.A great story.


INTERVIEW 

1) What inspired you to write A Thousand Fires? 
Having written two full manuscripts before A Thousand Fires, I knew what it was like to build a story and characters the way I wanted. The more I worked on the first drafts, I got the feeling that there was no one else who would be able to write the story exactly as I could. It was my story to tell, and that was a feeling that I didn’thave with the first two manuscripts.  The Iliad provided me the inspiration, but what kept me going was the excitement of being able to make it my own version.

2) Describe your book in three words.

Gritty. Fast. Unforgettable.

3) What are you planning to do for Halloween are you wearing any costume? 

I’m actually not a big fan of Halloween, and I don’t have a costume this year; but I plan to spend the evening indulging in some candy and goodies (and maybe watch a scary movie. Maybe.) 

4) Who is your favorite author? 

I auto-buy anything from Madeline Miller. She has a depth to her words and characters that binds the reader to them in the long-term, long after the book ends. I have such an admiration for the way she writes.


5) Tell us do you have any plans?  (I’m not 100% sure what this question means, but I answered for what I think it means!) 
My next book The Endless Skies comes out on August 17, 2021. I just turned it in to my editor two weeks ago and am so proud of it. I’ve had the story idea since 2013 and while it changed a great deal over the course of revisions, the heart of the story stayed the same and I couldn’t be any happier with it. Looking forward, I plan to take a bit of a break from writing and focus on catching up on reading during the winter (since it’s usually busier and hard to find the time to write, anyway!). There are so many great books that I put off reading to revise, and I’m excited to enjoy another author’s hard work for a change.






Photo Content from Shannon Price

SHANNON PRICE is a proud Filipina-American and Bay Area native. She once led an a cappella group for three years despite not knowing how to read music, and she carries that same level of confidence in every area of her life. When not writing, she can be found watching baking shows, exploring old bookstores, and going to the beach as often as she can. 

Her debut novel A Thousand Fires is a YA reimagining of the Iliad set in modern day San Francisco. She is represented by Elana Roth Parker of Laura Dail Literary Agency and thanks her lucky stars that she is.


        
PART ONE - REVIEWS AND GUEST POSTS
NOVEMBER 9th MONDAY JeanBookNerd GUEST POST
NOVEMBER 10th TUESDAY J.R.'s Book Reviews REVIEW
NOVEMBER 10th TUESDAY Read More Sleep Less REVIEW & INTERVIEW
NOVEMBER 11th WEDNESDAY Movies, Shows, & Books GUEST POST
NOVEMBER 12th THURSDAY BookHounds YA REVIEW & INTERVIEW 

PART TWO - REVIEWS
NOVEMBER 12th THURSDAY Emelie's Books REVIEW
NOVEMBER 13th FRIDAY Ya It's Lit REVIEW 
NOVEMBER 14th SATURDAY Reading Adventures of a Book Dragon REVIEW
NOVEMBER 15th SUNDAY Books and Zebras REVIEW
NOVEMBER 15th SUNDAY Author Kelly Risser REVIEW

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a comment

Copyright © 2014 Read More Sleep Less Blog
Template by These Paper Hearts