Blog Tour: Dark Metropolis Review and Giveaway

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Release date: June 17th 2014

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Purchase: AMAZON


Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


Well then... That was interesting and enlightening, I actually really enjoyed this book.

3.5 Stars

I'll be honest and tell you I don't think I would have read Dark Metropolis has someone told me about the book and it's details. For some reason I've been putting this book off, procrastinating about reading until last night I put my big girl panties on and read it.

To start with it was a bit slow and I found the instant connection between Freddy and Thea a bit annoying. It was far fetched, then the aimless banter between characters and the boring inner monologues of Thea got a bit tiresome.

But somewhere along the line I got into the story and invested in the characters. Firstly Dark Metropolis is written in three different POV's. The first being Thea, a sixteen year old girl living with her mother who also happens to be mentally ill. Then there's Freddy who is a silver haired boy with a special power or gift whichever you prefer, he and Thea have a connection because of this power. Then lastly we have Nan, Thea's dare I say best friend. I probably found Nan's POV the most interesting out of all three.

The book has definitely got a thirties era feel to it, but it's also a fantasy/pnr. The subject matter was quite intense and I found it very interesting. In some parts I got some holocaust vibes, the underground prison the revived lived in being a kind of concentration camp and Uncle was a sort of Hitler figure.

Then the author introduced a lesbian relationship, between Nan and Sigi. So kudo's to the author for that because trust me I did not see that coming, although I have to be honest I did feel like Sigi and Nan's characters were stereotypical. They both didn't care for the mainstream and Sigi was stockily built and Nan happened to get her hair shorn off which basically helps them slide into their relationship. But that's neither here nor there.

Again I really enjoyed reading this book. It was different to what I'm used to. I did feel the ending was rushed, I prefer a slow winding down after so many fast paced scenes. So 3.5 Stars, I was in between just liking it and really liking it.

ARC kindly provided by author in return for an honest review

About the author

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

Copyright © 2014 Read More Sleep Less Blog
Template by These Paper Hearts